Quick Guide to ITIL 2011

ITIL, owned by the UK Cabinet Office, was first conceived in 1987 by officials in the UK Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA). John Stewart, with the late Pete Skinner, came up with the concept out of a realisation that organisations were becoming increasingly dependent on IT. That meant there was an opportunity to develop a standard framework to help organisations to manage their IT infrastructure effectively and efficiently and thereby provide IT services of the quality required by their businesses.

The first ITIL Version 1 publication appeared in 1988. Version 2, significantly reduced in size, was published in the early 2000s and Version 3, with larger scope, in 2007. An ITIL 2011 update (not a new version like Version 3) was released in July 2011.

CCTA was absorbed into the Office of Government Commerce, OGC, in 2000. OGC itself was subsumed into the Cabinet Office in 2011. Plans are now afoot for the UK Government to appoint a Joint Venture partner to take a majority stake in the Best Management Practice business and thereby to lead the development, management and exploitation of ITIL from 2014 onwards. A competition to find the JV partner is under way, with an announcement expected in the spring of 2013.

The ITIL qualification scheme is modular and provides for qualifications at various levels of knowledge: Foundation, Intermediate, Managing Across the Lifecycle, Expert and Master. Full details are available at http://www.itil-officialsite.com .

Quint Wellington Redwood is an accredited training organisation offering courses at all levels. For information please visit http://www.quintgroup.com/en/. Information on other training providers is accessible through http://www.itil-officialsite.com .

Publications by Van Haren
Below is a selection of titles. For a comprehensive list, including publications in other languages, please visit the Van Haren website at http://www.vanharen.net
Foundations of ITIL 2011

ITIL A Pocket Guide

Passing the ITIL Intermediate Exams

Passing the ITIL Foundation Exam

The ITIL Process Manual

Updates and improvements in ITIL 2011

ITIL 2011 Service Strategy:
-clearer concepts
-additional practical guidance
-further examples
There are separate descriptions for Business Strategy and IT Strategy. Business Relationship Management and Demand Management are now defined as processes. Financial Management has also been expanded.

ITIL 2011 Service Design:
-aligns ITIL Service Design and ITIL Service Strategy.
-principles and concepts are clearer, with the addition of the Design Coordination process.
-the five aspects of service design, the service portfolio design and the terminology of the service catalogue have all been developed further.

ITIL Service Transition 2011:
-contains improvements in the flow and integration of several processes, such as change management, change evaluation, and release and deployment management.
-changes have been made to help readers understand key concepts. For example:
• new explanations on how a change proposal should be used
• the evaluation process has been renamed ‘change evaluation’
• the purpose and scope of ‘change evaluation’ have been modified to help understanding of when and how this process should be used
• structure, content and relationships of CMS (configuration management system) and SKMS (service knowledge management system) have been modified

ITIL Service Operation 2011:
-key Principles have been clarified, including guidance around service request models and proactive problem management.
-application management activities versus application development activities have been clarified.
-clarifying problem management by expanding section on problem analysis techniques, procedure flow for incidents and more guidance for escalating problem management incidents.
-there have been updates of process flows for all processes, including, request fulfilment, access management and event management. There is also additional guidance for managing physical facilities.

ITIL Continual Service Improvement 2011:
-has been renamed the CSI approach, rather than the CSI model. The idea of a CSI register has been introduced to record details of all improvement initiatives within an organisation.
-there has also been a greater emphasis on documenting the interfaces from CSI to other lifecycle stages.
-the seven step improvement process and its relationship with the ‘Plan-Do-Check-Act’ management cycle is clearer and minor changes have been made in all sections of the book to enhance meaning, improve readability and thus promote greater understanding.


One thought on “Quick Guide to ITIL 2011

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s